Sonny Dykes, Max Duggan, Johnny Hodges, Derius Davis headline slew of Big 12 awards for Horned Frogs

Share this

Kendre Miller
Kendre Miller was one of 10 Frogs named to the first team All-Big 12 (TCU Football).


By Jamie Plunkett
Frogs Today staff writer


The Big 12 Conference announced the All-Big 12 football teams and individual award winners Wednesday, and TCU scored big.

Max Duggan was selected as the Offensive Player of the Year, Sonny Dykes was named the Big 12 Chuck Neinas Coach of the Year, Johnny Hodges was the Defensive Newcomer of the Year and Derius Davis was the Special Teams Player of the Year. TCU landed 11 players on the first team, and Hodges wasn’t one of them. The linebacker was a second-team selection.

Dykes is in his first year at the helm of TCU and has led the Frogs to a 12-0 regular-season record and a berth in the Big 12 Championship, and has the Frogs knocking on the door of the College Football Playoff.

Duggan earned his second postseason award of the day. Earlier he was named the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award winner.

Duggan is the second TCU player  to win the Big 12 award, joining Trevone Boykin in 2014. Duggan is also the first quarterback to win the award since Kyler Murray did so in 2018 for Oklahoma.

Hodges becomes the second TCU player to selected as the defensive newcomer, joining Ben Banogu.

Davis, meanwhile, is the first TCU player to win the special-teams honor.

Kendre Miller is one of two running backs to make the first team, alongside Texas’ Bijan Robinson. Wide receiver Quentin Johnston and linemen Alan Ali and Steve Avila were also on the first-team offense.

Linebacker Dee Winters and cornerbacks Tre’Vius Hodges-Tomlinson, and Josh Newton received first-team defensive nods. Davis is the first-team return specialist, and Griffin Kell is first-team kicker.

All honors are voted on by the 10 Big 12 head coaches.

Jamie Plunkett,

Just a Frog fan covering TCU Athletics.

TCU riff ram icon

Never miss an exclusive story!