TCU’s Mount Rushmore? It includes Max Duggan, Sonny Dykes says

Share this

Heisman runner-up Max Duggan has been a popular guy in Arizona, but the TCU quarterback has stayed humble under increased accolades (Frogs Today/Melissa Triebwasser).


By Melissa Triebwasser
Frogs Today staff writer


SCOTTSDALE, Ariz. — TCU has exactly two Heisman finalists in its history: running back LaDainian Tomlinson, who finished fourth in the voting back in 2000, and quarterback Max Duggan, who was the runner-up just a few weeks ago.

(Davey O’Brien won the award in 1938, decades before the Heisman became what it is today.)

Duggan is one of just two TCU players to take home Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year honors, joining Trevone Boykin (2014) as the league’s best.

The award named for former TCU quarterback Davey O’Brien? It’s been won by precisely one TCU player — that Duggan guy.

He’s also the first Frogs QB to take home the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm award.

In a year of select company, Duggan’s biggest honor is the latest: He’s the first quarterback to lead TCU into the College Football Playoff.

You must be logged in to view the remainder of this content. Login
Not a member? Join now for only $9.99 a month or $99 a year. Subscribe

Reporter, photographer, and Horned Frog for life.

TCU riff ram icon

Never miss an exclusive story!