All-time Top 10 Quarterbacks in TCU history

Share this

[masterslider id=”3″]

By Jeff Wilson
Frogs Today senior writer

FORT WORTH — Gary Patterson was a defensive coordinator before he ever became TCU’s head coach, and he was heavily involved in the defense after replacing Dennis Franchione late in the 2000 season.

The numbers produced by the Horned Frogs’ defenses over the ensuing 20 seasons, not to mention the many players who have continued to the NFL, have given TCU a reputation for cranking out star defenders.

It’s hard to argue.

However, TCU’s success in the Patterson Era relied largely on heady quarterbacks who managed ballgames and could outright win them with their arms and, in some instances, their legs.

TCU football, though, didn’t begin with Patterson. The modern passing game, though, did start at TCU … in the 1930s.

That’s how far back as Frogs Today had to go to search for the top 10 quarterbacks in TCU history. Our list recognizes Sam Baugh and Davey O’Brien as quarterbacks, even though they technically were tailbacks in Dutch Meyer’s double-wing offense that was a spread formation.

This exercise wasn’t as simple as going to the football media guide and ranking QBs on their all-time passing totals. Not everyone is going to agree, and that won’t hurt our feelings one bit.

Disagree? Let us know in the comments sections, keeping in mind that this is a family website.

Onward we go with the Top 10.

[adrotate group="5"]
TCU riff ram icon

Never miss an exclusive story!